Before and After Hat

 

This morning in my writing,  I remembered the old hat I found in Mom’s closet. It was one of her mother’s old church hats.

She let me play with it,  but it didn’t take long for me to see that it wasn’t really my style. I think I was nine or ten. With permission,  I deconstructed the hat and wore it for years,  till I lost it somewhere in the field between the woods and our house.

It fit perfectly with my idea of myself as an explorer, with my radioactive Army watch on my wrist and my eyes on the horizon.  Dad found that watch in one of the used cars he sold and I begged for it; it was my first timepiece.

Random memories from a feral childhood. Maybe one day I’ll be good enough to draw the faces under those hats.

3 thoughts on “Before and After Hat

  1. ohmygosh…you already have what it takes to draw those faces….even tho that’s hard to do with the models long gone. I have a scrap of paper on my fridge with 6 or more drawings of people you captured while sitting in a waiting room or airport somewhere. What I’d give to be able to do what you do!!

    On Wed, May 17, 2017 at 11:08 AM, Any Given Sundry Too wrote:

    > Sundry posted: “Before and After Hat This morning in my writing, I > remembered the old hat I found in Mom’s closet. It was one of her mother’s > old church hats. She let me play with it, but it didn’t take long for me > to see that it wasn’t really my s” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

