Walken on Sunshine

You don’t have to like this.

Call it the Dali effect? Now at the top of my lottery-winning list: buy a little property in the desert where I could construct stuff, deconstruct stuff, re-construct stuff and paint on everything without fear of reprisal.

I wanted to try playing with mixed media using a found photograph after reading Freehand by Helen Birch.  This is gouache, marker, pen and photo.  Found this image of Christopher Walken in a recent AARP Magazine and as soon as I started cutting it out I could see the basic design in my head. Added a few details after the first burst.

I read a couple of books about artists’ journals that kind of intimidated me. Hopefully in recovery now.

7 thoughts on “Walken on Sunshine

  1. I hope you find it useful. It explores the various ways of making art in a very light way. I checked the digital version out from the library a couple of times and finally decided to order it. It’s physically smaller than I expected. That is a good commitment!

    I need to figure out printing photos. I’m so sick of my printer, which isn’t very old. It runs out of ink at the drop of a hat, and when one well is dry, the whole thing won’t print. Sigh. I’d like to use my own photos rather than found ones.

    Like

  2. Well, it made me laugh! I know what you mean about being intimidated by other artists’ journals. I wish I could say I was in recovery, but my response is to tell myself I’ll just stick to my photography. I’m going to check out the book you mentioned.

    Like

  3. I love how you are so open to new ideas! I SO hope you get that little place in the desert to do your thing!! Good to hear from you again. m ps …this is interesting, to say the least.

    On Wed, Apr 19, 2017 at 1:47 PM, Any Given Sundry Too wrote:

    > Sundry posted: ” You don’t have to like this. Call it the Dali effect? Now > at the top of my lottery-winning list: buy a little property in the desert > where I could construct stuff, deconstruct stuff, re-construct stuff and > paint on everything without fear of repri” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

