Touching the Sky

dscn1635

Hydra’s been working on these cairns on and off for a few years now.  Saturday was a great day to be up on the peak with these stones and those clouds.

dscn1636

I feel I have arrived.  That intensely blue peak in the distance is, I think, Mount Emma.

 

dscn1651

I felt compelled to add my two cents worth at the base of the farthest of the three cairns. It’ll be gone after the next rain.

From our house, we can see ravens playing with the wind and these branches.  Hydra has seen lots of road runners up here, too. If you build it…
dscn1293

This shot of Hydra with his most ambitious project yet was taken in May 2016. This is The Sphinx of Acton. I love the Quixotic element of building a sphinx on this hill in Southern California.

 

dscn1626

A couple of pre-teen boys were up there tearing it apart on Saturday. We saw them when we arrived home from errands and were able to intercept them on the fire road. They were appropriately apologetic and offered to fix it themselves. Hydra told them that the rocks are too heavy for them to lift (they seriously are) and he didn’t want them to get hurt. He showed them the sphinx he’s modeling this after.

They were at that age where you can talk yourself out of knowing that something is wrong. I did something like that when I was their age. I didn’t get caught, but it was a growing up moment when I realized that my actions caused someone else bad feelings and extra work.

It hurts to see the shoulders and neck, which were over 5 feet high, reduced to waist level. Hydra spent the rest of the afternoon up there working on it.

dscn1683

When I got to the other side of our neighborhood and took this shot, he was still working on the crest of the brown hill we call Sundry’s mountain.

3 thoughts on “Touching the Sky

  1. This is spectacular! Very impressive. I’m so glad you were able to speak with the boys. It could very well be a big factor in their growth. …as your expeience was with you.

    On Tue, Nov 1, 2016 at 8:33 PM, Any Given Sundry Too wrote:

    > Sundry posted: ” Hydra’s been working on these cairns on and off for a few > years now. Saturday was a great day to be up on the peak with these stones > and those clouds. I feel I have arrived. That intensely blue peak in the > distance is, I think, Mount Emma. ” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

